Adding & Editing Security Groups | Security & User Groups | SiteApex Website Administration | SiteApex Support
Customer Support

SiteApex Administration Help & Tutorials

Please use the topic links below to see a list of tutorials for that particular topic or module. Or you can use the search button to search for help on a specific topic. 

Note: there are a few non-default modules listed here. Please contact sales if you are interested in any of these modules.

Search:

Adding & Editing Security Groups

Security controls are found by clicking the ‘Control Panel’ menu item and then clicking ‘Security’.

Note: Security privileges are assigned to a "Group” and not to the individual "User”. Once a User is assigned to a Security Group they are given the security privileges of that group. An individual User can belong to more than one Security Group and thus have privileges of all the Secure Groups they belong to.

Adding a Security Group

  1. To add a new Security Group, click on "Add Security Group" in the top right corner.
  2. Give your new group a name and assign editing privileges to the group if required.
  3. You can select users for the group from the list at the bottom. Users can be added to the group at any time, either from editing the security group or by editing the user.
  4. Press [submit] at the bottom to create the new group.

Security Privileges

Privileges are divided into two categories: High and Low. This division of privileges helps the administrator understand the scope of the privilege when assigning items. High-level items apply to the website admin area. Low-level items apply only to the specific area (webpage, function, etc.) shown.

Assigning low-level items enables the administrator to assign restricted privileges to very specific areas of the website. For example, one group could be assigned the privilege of editing only one page of the website and nothing more.

Editing a Security Group

  1. Click on "List Security Groups" in the top right corner.
  2. Find the group you want to edit and click the [edit] next to it.
  3. Make appropriate changes to the group.
  4. Press [submit] at the bottom to save your updates.
Groups can also be deleted by pressing the [delete]. Do not delete the default groups.